
Why We Conducted This Audit
The Louisiana Tax Study, 2015 offered the legislature several proposed changes to taxes in Louisiana.  Among those 
changes was the recommendation to eliminate or substantially reduce the severance tax exemption for horizontal 
drilling. This report provides additional information on this exemption, including its impact on the state’s budget 

and whether or not other oil- and gas-producing states have similar exemptions.
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What We Found
Although Louisiana levies a severance tax on most oil 
and gas wells, the legislature temporarily suspended 
horizontally-drilled oil and gas wells from this tax in 
1994.  According to Louisiana Revised Statute 47:633.7(c)
(iii), a horizontally-drilled well shall have its severance tax 
suspended for up to 24 months or until the payout of the well 
is achieved. Since 1994, the Department of Natural Resources 
(DNR) has certified 3,025 wells as horizontal, which qualifies 
them for the severance tax suspension. Most horizontal wells 
are located in the Haynesville Shale in the northwestern part 
of the state, as shown in Exhibit 1. Our review of Louisiana’s 
horizontal well suspension found the following:

Louisiana’s severance tax suspension for horizontal wells has resulted in significant 
revenue loss for the state.  According to the Louisiana Department of Revenue’s (LDR) annual Tax Exemption 
Budget, Louisiana has lost more than $1.1 billion in additional revenue from severance tax suspensions for 
horizontal wells from fiscal years 2010 to 2014, as shown in Exhibit 2.

Exhibit 2
Revenue Loss from Horizontal Well Severance Tax Suspension

Fiscal Year Oil Gas Total
2010 $291,000 $238,748,000 $239,039,000
2011 1,241,000 234,884,000 236,125,000
2012 7,098,472 264,674,120 271,772,592
2013 7,667,963 227,564,460 235,232,423
2014 25,962,354 140,447,512 166,409,866
     Total $42,260,789 $1,106,318,092 $1,148,578,881
Source: Prepared by legislative auditor staff using LDR’s Tax Exemption Budget.
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Exhibit 1
Active

Horizontal Wells
Source: Prepared by 

legislative auditor’s staff 
using data from DNR.



View the full report at www.lla.la.gov.

Severance Tax Suspension for Horizontal Wells

What We Found (Cont.)

Louisiana is forfeiting potential revenue from horizontal gas wells during the most productive period of a 
well’s life, as production from these wells significantly declines during the suspension period.   According 
to DNR, all of the Haynesville Shale horizontal wells’ best production is in their first two years.  Because 
production dwindles significantly after the first two years, some operators may never pay severance taxes.  
According to data analyzed on 50 wells, the production for each well decreased by an average of 69% by the 
sixth quarter of production and more than 50% by the first year.  Exhibit 3 above shows the quarterly production 
of these 50 wells.

Louisiana is the only top-producing oil and gas state with 
horizontal drilling that currently grants a severance tax 
suspension for horizontal wells. There are currently no 
other states that allow tax suspensions on horizontal wells, 
and four other states grant rate reductions for these wells.  In 
Montana, Texas, and Oklahoma, horizontal wells are subject to 
a temporary reduced rate.   In North Dakota, horizontal wells 
are subject to a reduced rate, and a suspension may be granted 
if the price per barrel of oil is $35.50 or less; however, barrel prices have not reached this price in more than 10 
years.  Oklahoma and West Virginia previously suspended horizontal well severance taxes, similar to Louisiana, 
but in recent years have eliminated the exemption. 

Exhibit 3
Quarterly MCF Production for Horizontal Gas Wells (50-well sample)

Source: Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using data from DNR.
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