
State Mineral and Energy Board
Mineral Lease Royalty Rates 

Audit Control # 40120019
Informational Report • April 2013

DARYL G. PURPERA, 
CPA, CFE

Why We Prepared This Informational Report
The purpose of this report is to describe the State Mineral and Energy Board’s (Board) process for awarding mineral 
leases, the number of mineral leases in operation as of November 2012, the royalty rates, and how these rates compare to 
other states.  Because the purpose of mineral leases is, in part, to optimize state revenue from the royalties generated from 
state-owned lands, we also examined whether the Board can renegotiate royalty rates to maximize Louisiana’s return on 
mineral leases.1

What We Found
As of November 2012, the Department of Natural Resources 
(DNR), Office of Mineral Resources (OMR) was overseeing 
1,888 active mineral leases on over 840,000 acres of state-
owned land or water bottoms.  During fiscal year 2012, mineral 
lease revenue generated over $646 million for the state, of which 
approximately $598 million (92.6%) was from royalty payments.  
As shown in Exhibit 1, OMR divides mineral leases into five oil 
and gas regions.  

Mineral Lease Royalty Rate Ranges
The average royalty rate for the current mineral leases 
is 21.9%.  These rates range from 12.5% to 61.6%.  In 
addition, 258 (13.7%) of the 1,888 leases date back to 1920 
through 1959 and have the same royalty rate as when the 
lease began.  According to DNR, many of these leases 
are the highest producing oil and gas leases.  The average 
royalty rate in Louisiana has almost doubled since the time 
period from 1920 to 1939. 

Mineral Royalty Rates Compared to Other States
We found that Louisiana’s current average royalty rate of 
21.9% is comparable with the other states we reviewed.  
Three of the seven states we reviewed, including Louisiana, 
negotiate royalty rates during the bid process, while the 
other four states have fixed rates.    

Renegotiation of Mineral Royalty Rates
The Board is not required by state law to renegotiate royalty rates.  However, the Board has the legal authority to 
renegotiate mineral lease royalty rates as long as contract renegotiations follow the Louisiana Mineral Code and basic 
contract law from the Louisiana Civil Code.  This means that the state of Louisiana and the company must mutually 
agree on a new lease rate or the mineral lease contract must have a renegotiation clause.  Currently, the Board does 
not have a renegotiation clause in its mineral lease contracts.  None of the other states we reviewed, including the ones 
that negotiate the rates initially, renegotiate royalty rates. 

1 A mineral lease royalty rate is the agreed-upon percentage of profit generated from state-owned land that companies pay to the state.

Exhibit 1
Number of Leases by Oil and Gas Region

As of November 2012

Brown Dense - 49
Coastal Zone - 1,200**
Haynesville - 345
Tuscaloosa Marine
  Shale (TMS) - 239**
Other - 62*

*Other indicates leases that are not located in a named region.
**Seven leases overlap into both the Coastal Zone and TMS.  Also, 
some regions may overlap into two parishes.  We colored the parish the 
color of the region that had the most leases for that region.
Source:  Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information  
from DNR.
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What is the Board’s process for awarding 
  mineral leases?
OMR serves as the staff to the Board throughout the 
mineral lease process. Once a month, the Board meets to 
select which bids should be accepted for mineral leases on 
state-owned property.  These bids include the royalty rate 
bid for the property. Exhibit 2 summarizes the mineral lease 
process.  

Once a mineral lease is signed, the awarded party has 3-5 
years, depending on the contract requirements, to start 
producing on that piece of property.  At that time, the 
awarded party will start paying mineral royalties to DNR 
for that lease.  Until the property has started producing, the 
awarded party pays a rental fee, specified by the contract, 
to DNR.  If the property has not started producing within 
3-5 years, the lease terminates pursuant to its terms.  In 
addition, the lease may terminate if the property stops 
producing for 60-90 days (in most cases), depending on 
the contract requirements, after production has started.   
According to the contract terms, the lease may not be 
terminated for reasons such as the awarded party paying an 
in-lieu royalty payment or a force majeure event occurring.3

What are the royalty rate ranges for the current
  mineral leases?
As of November 2012, DNR was overseeing 1,888 active 
mineral leases.  The oldest active lease dates back to 1920 
and has the same royalty rate of 12.5% as when the lease 
began. The current average royalty rate in Louisiana is 
21.9%.  The average royalty rate has almost doubled since 
the time period from 1920 to 1939.  Exhibit 3 summarizes 
the average royalty rates since 1920. 

Royalty Rates by Region
OMR divides mineral leases into five oil and gas regions.  
Exhibit 4 shows the number of mineral leases, the mineral 
royalty rate range, and average rate for each region.

2 A tract is an area of land or water.
3 A force majeure event is when oil or gas cannot be produced 
due to causes outside of control of the awarded party, such as a 
natural disaster. 

Exhibit 2
Mineral Lease Process

Step 1 aPotential lease customers request that particular state-
owned tracts2 (land or water bottom) be nominated 
for lease. 

Step 2 aOMR either accepts or rejects the nominated tract for 
bid and advertises the property for not more than 60 
days prior to the date for the public opening of the 
bids.

Step 3 aInterested parties submit sealed bids on the entirety or 
a portion of the state tract advertised to OMR by a set 
deadline.

Step 4 aBids are publicly opened and read at the time and date 
advertised during the Board meeting.

Step 5 aOMR staff makes recommendations to the Board 
regarding which bids should be accepted and 
which bids should be rejected.  The mineral lease 
royalty rate within the bid is evaluated by looking at 
historical rates and recent production in that area.  As 
a result, the royalty rates are region-specific.

Step 6 aThe Board announces its award decisions during the 
meeting.

Source:  Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using OMR’s leasing manual.

Exhibit 3
Mineral Leases, Average Royalty Rates

Calendar Years 1920-2012*
Time Period Average Rate Number of Leases

1920-1939 13.0% 35
1940-1959 14.6% 223
1960-1979 20.5% 125
1980-1999 23.2% 278
2000-2012 23.3% 1,227
1920-2012 21.9% 1,888

*The royalty rates for 2012 and number of leases were as of November 2012.
Source:  Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information obtained from 
the mineral lease contracts.   

Exhibit 4
Royalty Rates by Region, Fiscal Year 2012

Region No. of 
Leases

Royalty Rate 
Range

Average 
Rate

Brown  
Dense 49 12.5%-27.5% 19.6%

Coastal  
Zone 1,200 12.5-53% 21.4%

Haynesville 345 12.5%-60% 23.6%

TMS 239 12.5%-61.6% 22.4%

Other 62 12.5%-30% 22.2%

Total 1,888* 12.5%-61.6% 21.9%

*Seven leases overlap into both Coastal Zone and TMS.
Source:  Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information from DNR.
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How do Louisiana mineral royalty rates
  compare to other states?
Louisiana’s current average royalty rate of 21.9% is 
comparable with other states we reviewed.  Louisiana 
ranks sixth highest out of the 32 states that have crude oil 
production and fifth highest out of the 33 states that have 
natural gas production.4  For our comparison of other states, 
we selected five states and the wells in federal waters 
(federal offshore) based on their proximity to Louisiana and 
those that are the highest oil and gas producers according 
to rankings from the Independent Petroleum Association 
of America.5  Louisiana’s mineral lease royalty rates are 
negotiated during the mineral leasing process, in contrast to 
other states like Texas, Oklahoma, and Wyoming that have 
fixed rates.6

Can the Board renegotiate mineral leases
  to increase royalty rates?
The Board is not required by state law to renegotiate 
royalty rates.    However, the Board has the legal 
authority to renegotiate royalty rates as long as contract 
renegotiations follow the Louisiana Mineral Code and basic 
contract law from the Louisiana Civil Code.  This means 

that both parties must mutually agree on a new lease rate or 
the mineral lease contract must have a renegotiation clause.  
A renegotiation clause would allow the Board to review 
the contract after a period of time for market trends and to 
determine if adjustments are needed.  Currently, DNR must 
adhere to the agreed-upon rate for the duration of the lease.  

As stated previously, the purpose of mineral leases is, in 
part, to optimize state revenue from the royalties generated 
from state-owned lands.  According to DNR management, 
the Board does not renegotiate the rates for the following 
reasons:

1.	 Companies would not be motivated to accept a 
higher royalty rate term without the state offering 
an incentive in return.  For example, a company 
may be willing to offer a higher royalty, but in 
return it will likely demand concessions from 
the state, such as an extended period to begin 
production.   

2.	 Based on discussion with attorneys from the 
Attorney General’s office, the Board would 
potentially have to put the tract of land or water 
through the mineral lease process again, creating 
the potential that the rate may decrease for that 
lease.  

In addition, none of the other states we reviewed 
renegotiate royalty rates, including the ones that negotiate 
the rates initially.  Renegotiating royalty rates could 
potentially increase the revenue the state is receiving from 
oil and gas leases.   For example, we reviewed seven of the 
258 leases from 1920 to 1959 in Exhibit 3 that have royalty 
rates less than the 23.3% average rate from 2000 to 2012.7  
If the royalty rates for these leases had equaled 23.3% 
over the last 12 years based on the amount of oil and gas 
they produced during fiscal year 2012, the state could have 
collected an additional $2,644,908 in royalty payments.  
However, the actual economic impact would depend on the 
criteria DNR used to select the leases to renegotiate and 
the actual production and royalty rate of those leases.  In 
addition, if the Board started renegotiating royalty rates, 
there could be instances where businesses would attempt 
to renegotiate their leases to obtain lower royalty rates, 
therefore decreasing state revenue.  

4 These rankings are from 2010-2011 and were published by the Independent Petroleum Association of America.  
5 Our comparison was limited to those states who responded to our inquiry.
6 Louisiana’s bid process allows interested parties to offer their own royalty rates, whereas other states set specific royalty rates before 
accepting bids.
7 These seven leases are not the only leases with royalty rates less than 23.32% during this time period. 

Exhibit 5
Mineral Royalty Rate Comparison

As of November 2012

State
Current 
No. of 
Leases

Average 
Royalty Rate*

Type of 
Rate

Texas** 9,000 25% Fixed
Arkansas 140 25% Negotiated
Louisiana 1,888 21.9% Negotiated
Mississippi** 20 20% Negotiated
Oklahoma** 5,000 18.8% Fixed
Wyoming 4,267 16.7% Fixed
Federal 
Offshore*** 6,723 16.7% Fixed

*The average royalty rates listed for the other states (not including Louisiana) do 
not take into consideration different factors, such as tax rates.
**According to these states, the current number of leases is an approximate total.
***Federal offshore refers to all wells in federal waters.
Source:  Prepared by legislative auditor’s staff using information from other 
states, the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, and the U.S. Department of 
Interior’s Office of Natural Resources Revenue.
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